From One Procrastinator to Another – My Top 3 Motivational Tips!

I have a confession. I am a major procrastinator.

Now and again (everyday) I say that I will tackle the pile of coursework papers that are quickly beginning to take over the whole of my room (and life), but somehow I accidentally stumble onto addictive sites such as YouTube and Tumblr, and they whisper softly into my ear that watching videos of how to bath a hedgehog and cats running into walls is obviously productive and totally worth my time.

I regret letting this happen every.single.time. 

It leaves me in a lost state at 2am in the morning, staring blankly at my ceiling, knowing that the ‘to-do’ pile is only going to get bigger the next day.

But don’t fear, those who also happen to suffer!

Below are my top tips for motivating yourself when all you want to do is float off away from any kind of productive thinking, and I promise they’re not cliché or obvious, unlike so many ‘motivational tips’ seem to be these days:

1) Create a motivational quotes book. When you have a spare 5 minutes grab any old notebook you can find and nominate it as your ‘Motivation Book’ that you will turn to whenever you feel the urge to drift from an important task. You can lay it out anyway you like, make it colourful, simplistic, just whatever appeals to you, and then jam-pack it full of your favourite quotes, or quotes you happen to see around that you like. Not only can it help you to stay on track, it is also a really nice keepsake to have for later life. Just make sure you don’t procrastinate making the book… that kind of defies the whole point.

2) Make a priority list every day. This is essentially an chronologically ordered ‘to-do’ list. I would advise placing this in direct view of your work-space, so that you can see the progress you are making through your tasks. Once you have completed a task, cross it off the list in any way you like, for example, a simple highlight would do, but if you’re feeling particularly annoyed at the task then you could cut it up into shreds, burn it, fold it as many times as possible, just don’t hurt anybody, I don’t want to be held responsible.

3) Try to avoid using YouTube for music. The problem I find with using YouTube as my source for music whilst working is that I spend about 2483735753 hours trying to find a decent song to listen to, when the song usually only lasts for 3 minutes, meaning that I have to go through the process alllll over again very soon after choosing. This is really unproductive. Instead, make a different working playlist every week and stick to it. If you don’t want to listen to any of the songs on your playlist, don’t search the whole of your iTunes making a new one, simply just don’t listen to any music. It really isn’t necessary, and if you’re a student like me, all of the exams you’re studying for are in complete silence anyway, so get some practice at working in silence while you can.

That’s all for today, but if people genuinely find this helpful please do let me know and I’ll try to extend the list!

I’m still looking for young people to help me with an exciting project, so if you’re interested please contact me on any social networking site or e-mail laurenleacunningham@gmail.com

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

