Thankful Thursday: That feeling

Hopefully you know what I mean by that feeling.

It’s when you just get goosebumps all over because you’ve seen/met/found something so perfect and you just can’t believe it.

For the first time, in what feels ages, I got the feeling. Somebody linked me to the most perfect job opportunity and I haven’t stopped smiling since. It just seemed to fit so perfectly. I had been so worried about where I was going to be heading after school was finished, I desperately wanted to get into the journalism industry without going to University, but I was feeling so deflated as people left, right and centre were telling me it wasn’t possible. Until I saw it.

Granted, I am in no way secured the opportunity, and I still have to go through the whole application process, but it has given me something to work hard for, and my gosh have I been doing that.

Every day since finding out about it I’ve been running round school like a mad woman asking people to criticise my writing, ask me fake interview questions (in case I get that far) and read my CV/covering letter every 30 seconds. I’ve even come up with, what I think, is a very clever way of grabbing their attention.

I have to admit, I do have good instincts. I know what’s good for me and what isn’t, I know what is within my realistic reach and I’m also pretty good at knowing people’s opinion on me. So I knew that if I didn’t apply for this opportunity then I was basically just a complete and utter lemon.

So I guess that’s why I love that feeling so much, because it just gives me even motivation than I have already, and when I feel like this, I’ll do whatever it takes to not fail; watch out world! I basically turn into superwoman, and I literally don’t sleep until it’s perfect. But all the way throughout, I’m smiling, that’s what I love the most about it. Even if I’m not successful in gaining the opportunity, I know for I fact I will be still smiling on the outside, although feeling gutted, I’ll be happy I was so motivated (click here to see what I’m like atm).

I’m also a shameful believer in superstition, and therefore I don’t want to give too much away yet, keep you all in a bit of mystery, but keep your fingers crossed, everyone. Please.

—-

Follow me on @LLeaCunningham

Leave a Reply

