Moaning Monday: School HOLIDAYS

It’s not that I dislike school, it can be fun and stuff. But one thing I do dislike is when teacher’s stress to me ‘Oh Lauren you have to relax on your holiday OK. Chill out, have fun’, but then set us about 50 DAYS worth of homework/coursework/revision. Hypocritical.

Lately, it’s sad that all I find myself doing is going to school for just over six hours a day, coming home doing school work till 8pm, doing journalism/blog stuff till 10pm and then going to bed because I’m so exhausted. It literally means that I have no life at the moment. Which is why I wish our holidays were reserved strictly for relaxing, because they’re not.

Put it this way, when I eventually get a full-time job, I’m going to book or use my allocated holidays to relax and do something I want to do. I’m not going to book a day off because I want to carry on my work at home, what is the point?…

This is why I think Gove is trying to actually kill me off. If school days are increased then I am running the risk of having a serious breakdown, or dropping some journalism activities, which I definitely do not want to do.

As for my weekends, well I work part-time as a waitress on Fridays and Saturdays from 5.30pm till 11pm or later, so I’m basically sleeping for half of the weekend trying to catch-up on it. Hence why by Sunday I have simply lost all motivation to go through another week of having no time to myself. Although, I have come up with a solution for myself. Half-term is in a couple weeks time, and I’m going to do no school work for that whole week. For once I want to relax, and when teachers ask me on the first Monday back ‘Lauren, have you done all your holiday work?’ I am just going to say ‘No, Miss, like you just said, it was a HOLIDAY and I treat it like one. I’m pretty sure you didn’t mark every day, all day of the half-term’.

Or maybe I’m incapable of being rebellious and instead I’ll just lie and say I left it at home…

Leave a Reply

